Top Menu

Melbourne Cup Winners

The Emirates Melbourne Cup is a truly spectacular event: each year on the first Tuesday of November at 3pm, the greatest thoroughbreds from around the world gather at Flemington and battle it out for a stake of the $6.2-million prize money and to cement their names in history.

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2015 Prince of Penzance Michelle Payne Darren Weir
2014 Protectionist Ryan Moore Andreas Wohler
2013 Fiorente Damien Oliver Gai Waterhouse
2012 Green Moon Brett Prebble Robert Hickmott
2011 Dunaden Christoph Lemaire Mikel Delzangles
2010 Americain Gérald Mossé Alain de Royer Dupre
2009 Shocking Corey Brown Mark Kavanagh
2008 Viewed Blake Shinn Bart Cummings
2007 Efficient Michael Rodd Graeme Rogerson
2006 Delta Blues Yasunari Iwata Katsuhiko Sumii
2005 Makybe Diva Glen Boss Lee Freedman
2004 Makybe Diva Glen Boss Lee Freedman
2003 Makybe Diva Glen Boss David Hall
2002 Media Puzzle Damien Oliver Dermot K. Weld
2001 Ethereal Scott Seamer Sheila Laxon
2000 Brew Kerrin McEvoy Mike Moroney
1999 Rogan Josh John Marshall Bart Cummings
1998 Jezabeel Chris Munce Brian Jenkins
1997 Might and Power Jim Cassidy Jack Denham
1996 Saintly Darren Beadman Bart Cummings
1995 Doriemus Damien Oliver Lee Freedman
1994 Jeune Wayne Harris David Hayes
1993 Vintage Crop Michael Kinane Dermot K. Weld
1992 Subzero Greg Hall Lee Freedman
1991 Let’s Elope Steven King Bart Cummings
1990 Kingston Rule Darren Beadman Bart Cummings
1989 Tawriffic Shane Dye Lee Freedman
1988 Empire Rose T K Allan Laurie Laxon
1987 Kensei Larry Olsen Les Bridge
1986 At Talaq Michael Clarke Colin Hayes
1985 What A Nuisance Pat Hyland John Meagher
1984 Black Knight Peter Cook George Hanlon
1983 Kiwi Jim Cassidy Snowy Lupton

, , , ,